Wrap-Up: 2019 Water Professionals Conference

We're recognizing GRW employees who received awards and/or recognition during the 2019 Water Professionals Conference held August 19-21 in Louisville. Shown with a few conference activity shots are (from left) Josh Flanery, Scott Clark, Robert Bates, and Brad Montgomery.

One of the water resources industry's biggest regional events -- the Kentucky-Tennessee Water Professionals Conference (KY/TN WPC) -- wrapped up its 16th annual conference August 21 in Louisville.

GRW and a number of its professionals took part in and/or were recognized during this year's goings on.

Six GRW employees gave presentations on topics ranging from reclaiming water to brew beer (Robert Bates) to challenges of designing 10 MG concrete tanks (Joe Henry) and CSO basins (Todd Solomon), as well as smart meter best practices (Scott Clark), active shooter response (Brad Montgomery), and showcasing a client's approach to successful long-term infrastructure improvements (Joe Pavoni). We heard it was standing room only for most. Watch for copies of presentations and information about next year's invitation for abstracts at the KYTN WPC website.

Four GRW employees received special recognition:

  1. Josh Flanery, PE - 2019 Graduate of the Water Professionals Leadership Academy: As a WPLA member, Josh participated in training sessions and team building activities that incorporate personal and professional development. The goal of the program is to assist these professionals in developing their ability to provide future industry leadership.
  2. Scott Clark - KY/TN American Water Works Association (AWWA) Customer Service Award: AWWA's Customer Service Award acknowledges his "outstanding customer service, flexibility, and personal attention to develop and maintain relationships with customers" during his tenure with Hardin County Water District No. 2.
  3. Robert Bates - Water Environmental Federation (WEF) Quarter Century Operator Award: WEF's Quarter Century Operator Club recognizes operators of wastewater treatment facilities for their service and dedication in a difficult and dangerous profession (ask Robert for details about this sometime). The Club was created under the sponsorship of Frank Woodbury Jones, who served as the Clubs' first registrar. Robert qualified because of 28 years of service in wastewater treatment plant operations at Louisville MSD.
  4. Brad Montgomery, PE - George Warren Fuller Award and Outgoing AWWA Director Award: During this year's KY/TN WPC, Brad’s dedication and service to the industry was recognized when he became the Kentucky/Tennessee Section AWWA's 2019 recipient of the George Warren Fuller Award. The AWWA describes the award as a way to recognize selected members’ "distinguished service to the water supply field" and to commemorate the life of George Warren Fuller. Mr. Fuller made his mark on the water industry in many significant ways - including an assignment in Louisville in 1895 when he took charge of experiments in rapid sand filtration. It's a stunning story and career; read more here. Brad is the second GRW recipient of this award; Lyle Wolf, GRW's second president, earned one in 1988. Brad also received recognition for his AWWA leadership role, receiving the Outgoing AWWA Director Award. Brad has served on the Board of Directors of the American Water Works Association (AWWA) and as Director of the Kentucky-Tennessee Section from 2016 through June of this year.

We are proud to share our congratulations with our coworkers -- as well as this year's KYTN WPC organizers.